"Auctioneer" is one who sells goods, merchandise, or property of any kind, at public or private auction, for another person, and who receives any commission or compensation of any kind for conducting such sale; but not including one who conducts such a sale by or under the jurisdiction of any court, or pursuant to any judicial judgment or order, or any foreclosure sale of real estate, and not including any owner of any goods, merchandise or property of any kind, who himself conducts such sale.
All Auctioneers operating in Platte County are required to have a Platte County Auctioneer’s License.
343.100. No person shall be permitted to sell goods or property of any kind at auction unless he shall have resided in this state six months next proceeding the time of making application for license. Except that any nonresident individual may be granted a license to engage in auctioneering in this state upon application and payment of the appropriate fees set out in this chapter.
Obtaining an Auctioneer's License
In order to obtain a license for the County of Platte, the following is required:
1. Completed PLATTE COUNTY AUCTIONEER’S LICENSE APPLICATION.
2. The appropriate fees paid according to the duration needed listed below (plus a $2 processing fee):
|Ten (10) Days||$3.00||$2.00||$5.00|
Make checks payable to: Platte County Treasurer.
3. Approval of the County Commission: After receipt of all of the above documents, requests are submitted during the County Commission Administrative Session held the first and third Monday of each month.
All documents must be in the County Clerk’s office by 5:00 the Tuesday prior to session in order for the request to be processed by the Commission.
Issuing an Auctioneer's License
After approval, licenses are emailed to the email address of record. Licenses are to be kept in the Auctioneer’s possession at all times while operating in Platte County.
If a hard copy is desired, indicate so on the application.
Once received, Auctioneer’s License is to be kept readily available.
Platte County Clerk’s Office – Auctioneer’s License
415 Third St., Room 116
Platte City, Missouri 64079
Penalties: Missouri Revised Statutes
Missouri Statute: 343.250. Every person who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction, shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty nor more than five hundred dollars, and shall be disqualified from exercising the rights or pursuing the business of an auctioneer for a period of one year from the date of his conviction. After January 1, 1979, every person who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a class C misdemeanor and shall be disqualified from exercising the rights or pursuing the business of an auctioneer for a period of one year from the date of his conviction.
MISSOURI REVISED STATUES
PLATTE COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE
Phone - 816 858-3340